Is It Just Me? (they don’t look like this in the magazines)

[MCCALL'S MAGAZINE, WOMAN IN FLOWERED HAT HOLD...

[MCCALL’S MAGAZINE, WOMAN IN FLOWERED HAT HOLDING COMPACT] (Photo credit: George Eastman House)

Is it just me or does my bum look too big?
Is it just me or am I too fat? I need to lose weight!
Is it just me or is my hair a mess?
Is it just me or do my clothes never fit quite right?
Is it just me or is my face too pale?
With too many lines and a nose slightly off centre,
With a too-round chin and bags under my eyes
My eyebrows need fixing, my nails doing, my top lip waxing!
It must be just me: they don’t look like this on the television
Or in the magazines, not a wrinkle round their eyes nor
On their foreheads;
Their hair always immaculate and clothes just perfectly
Divine;
It must be just me-how to make that ‘perfect body’ mine?
Oh good grief look at her: What does she think she looks like –
Has she no pride?
She could have made an effort, her kids must be so ashamed!
Look at him, has he no fashion-sense?
He could have brushed his hair and bought some decent shoes!
Who does she think she is, in those shiny high heels and short skirt,
Just asking for attention if you ask me,
Some kind of super-star or model wannabe.
Look at him thinking he’s God gift to women, with that sharp
Hair-cut and flashing the cash like there’s no tomorrow!
Honestly! What is wrong with everyone?
Oh look-my favourite celeb programme’s on BBC1…

Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. The reality is the average man or woman has looks that are imperfect, don’t stand out that much, and often there is a lack of confidence in the person they are. But magazines, television and film tend to lean towards the majority being highly attractive, and confident, and it’s certainly not the world I live in! There is a very simple reason this is being forced on us to absorb – it sells! 🙂 That wonderful carefree image sells all sorts of products, holidays, music, film, books. Often things we don’t need, but someone wants our money! I hate it too, but I don’t think it’s going to go away! I try my best to ignore it, don’t watch much TV, haven’t read women’s magazines for years, and I largely switch off emotionally to advertising – I’m a difficult woman to sell anything to! If everyone did this, ‘they’ would stop showing those images because there would be no point! Lets hope the world tires of it one day! 😀

    Reply
    • Suzy, thank you so much for this comment – I couldn’t agree more. It’s so insidious, I try not to take notice, but I do worry about my young daughter – the effect it has on the growing generation is awful. I too hope it goes away one day – very soon!
      Blessings be

      Reply
  2. You have captured the “voice of judgment” perfectly. How we learn to criticize – ourselves and one another. We learn that. We are not born that way. In your post I hear my grandmother, my friends in high school and myself. We are un-learning now. Let’s hope we un-learn this completely. Thanks for expressing it in such an amusing way. Love, Alia

    Reply
  3. Thank you for the chuckle and the reminder of why I don’t buy or read fashion magazines. 🙂 We humans are so quirky! Gotta envy my dog and cat sometimes…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply
  4. The plastic faces of some of these celebrities are quite scary…I’d rather have my wrinkles….BTW does my butt look fat in these jeans? 😉

    Reply
    • 🙂 YES!! The lines, the wrinkles, the grey hairs etc are the stories of a life lived… t.v. ‘celebs’ just look wrong!
      Thank you for commenting.

      Reply
  5. LOL
    And I just keep flipping through all the magazines. I don’t buy any, but they are always sitting around in the doctor’s office and there isn’t anything else to look at.
    The same goes for the House Beautiful pictures. Whose house ever looks like that?

    Reply
    • Exactly!! We are constantly confronted with ‘perfect’ people and ‘perfect’ homes, when this is a false economy; a trick of technology and a made-up momentary snapshot… it is a poisoned illusion! Yet the effects are insidious and far-reaching. I don’t read ANY gossip/glamour mags… I always have a book on me and/or my writing journal 🙂 This makes me happy!

      Reply
  6. TV personalities and celeb can be very influential, especially when they are idolized. Your words reflect this truth–something we all, consciously or unconsciously, have experienced.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

factfantasyfiction2's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Endless Light and Love

My Spiritual Journey

All the little pieces

How I found what once was lost

Lavender Moon Girl's Blog

Everyday poems and images for everyone.

The Lazy Archaeologist

A museum worker/lurker and once-upon-a-time archaeologist talks objects, museums and heritage!

Michelle Joyce Bond

Offbeat, New Adult Paranormal Romance

JMC813

My Imagination is the DEVIL on my shoulder

alohaleya

wearing her heart on her blog

A Tranquil Mind's Blog

A journey through the thoughts of a tranquil mind

The Heartsongs Blog

Journeying back to my heart

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Orion Bright Star

" Love is the vibration of all Healing "

The Seven Minds

More Than Seven Chakras

Platinum Mind University

Eritis sicut Deum scientes bonum et malum

Sacred Soul Journey

Discovering, Connecting and Living the Sacred through power animals, tree spirits, colour and numerology

Thinking About Living

Poetry, poetic prose and curious musings

MzSusanB's Just Visiting

Life, Travel, and the Art of Accessibility

Laurali Star Diaries

Laurali Star Diaries is the Story of a Real-Life Cinderella Blogging About Indie Living and A Charmed Kind of Life

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

The Healing Center

319 Rantoul Street Beverly, MA

Healing with Dixie

Living from Your Heart to Awaken Your Divine Potential

joyful cacophony

Welcome to our online community of creativity, healing and self-exploration! This is a place to tell our stories with the intention to learn from one another. Please read and share your thoughts freely!

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

sara annon

seeking the middle path

Tarot And Healing

Heal, Rejuvenate, Discover yourself!

