A Meditation Lesson

Spirit MeditatingClose your eyes and close them again
There at your centre Be – remain
Until you are past your Heart and your breath
Past even your Soul centred at rest
You are you in blackness and in light
A consciousness only shining bright
Hovering in a Space of No-thingness
Flooding your Spirit with tempered Bliss
Feel the connection to all that lives and see
All that has been and all that shall be
See the Earth, so tiny a home
In the myriad Galaxies your Being will roam
Understand then how small we are
Our lives are short compared to star
So what need then for tension, anger, strife?
This pale blue dot our shared home and shared life
Bring yourself back, slowly retreat
Come into yourself grounding through your feet
Breathe in breathe out and open your eyes
Your meditation lesson gives a surprise-
For you see the world newly made
Your senses heightened as the Vision fades
Body Mind and Soul aligned perfectly
You are at peace; in absolute harmony.

There are three themes here and I feel some acknowledgements are due. Meditation, Spirituality, Connection to all living things – including the Universe – is a big part of my life and I felt that a poem about ‘A Perfect Vision’ and feeling after meditation was something that I needed to write. There are two nods included in this poem to people who have inspired and influenced me, and their thoughts helped to shape this poem. The most obvious, of course, is Carl Sagan, ‘Pale Blue Dot‘. if you don’t know about this, I strongly recommend you look at the links below. His words, his thoughts, are powerful; amazing; humbling. The second – and will only be known to Pratchett fans – is in the first line and is from ‘Wee Free Men‘. A fantasy book? Spirtual? No not really – but there are some paragraphs in it that are spiritually inclined, and so powerful when you read them. Reading about Tiffany finding her power, connecting to the land, sent a shiver down my spine. I won’t say anymore – if you want to know, read the book!

So there we go. I couldn’t publish this poem without acknowledging the people and their thoughts who inspired and influenced its creation.

Blessings be.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Isn’t it great how meditation puts everything into perspective? Poetry is a meditative heart.

    Reply
  2. “We are in the universe and the universe is in us.” Neil deGrasse Tyson said this, and a lot of other wonderful things. Biologically, chemically, and atomically we are the universe. It’s awesome. I’ll even toss in “spiritually” too!

    Reply
    • It IS awesome, I agree! I’ve scratched a draft poem on that topic too – about being as one with the universe… I just need to hone it!
      Thank you form commenting eM πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Yes, I really like Sagan and his thoughts. I think we all need a place or way in which we meditate. I never really thought I was a meditative type of person. I can’t sit still and fold my hands or close my eyes etc. But I believe I have the hovering – out of body feeling when I am walking. I go to a rather wooded and natural place and do a lot of self thinking along the way. Thirty minutes of exercise and 30 minutes of uninterrupted me. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • You must have a natural ‘instinct’ then – to hover outside of yourself whilst walking!
      Sounds like you’ve found your own way to meditate πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Loved it Heidi. Connectedness is so important if we are to understand a body and mind aligned. Lots of love ~ Sheri

    Reply
  5. These external sources were indeed helpful to you. I enjoyed your poem, Heidi. Thanks for the links.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

factfantasyfiction2's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Endless Light and Love

My Spiritual Journey

All the little pieces

How I found what once was lost

Lavender Moon Girl's Blog

Everyday poems and images for everyone.

The Lazy Archaeologist

A student archaeologist talks objects, excavations and academia

Michelle Joyce Bond

Offbeat, New Adult Paranormal Romance

JMC813

My Imagination is the DEVIL on my shoulder

alohaleya

wearing her heart on her blog

A Tranquil Mind's Blog

A journey through the thoughts of a tranquil mind

The Heartsongs Blog

Journeying back to my heart

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Welcome to OrionBrightStar

"The wound is the place where the Light enters you" Rumi

The Seven Minds

More Than Seven Chakras

Platinum Mind University

Eritis sicut Deum scientes bonum et malum

Sacred Soul Journey

Discovering, Connecting and Living the Sacred through power animals, tree spirits, colour and numerology

Thinking About Living

Poetry, poetic prose and curious musings

MzSusanB's Just Visiting

Life, Travel, and the Art of Accessibility

Laurali Star Diaries

Laurali Star Diaries is the Story of a Real-Life Cinderella Blogging About Indie Living and A Charmed Kind of Life

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Healing with Dixie

Living from Your Heart to Awaken Your Divine Potential

joyful cacophony

Welcome to our online community of creativity, healing and self-exploration! This is a place to tell our stories with the intention to learn from one another. Please read and share your thoughts freely!

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

sara annon

seeking the middle path

Tarot And Healing

Heal, Rejuvenate, Discover yourself!

