2013: A New Year? Really?

Here’s wishing you all a Great 2013! New beginnings, a clean slate, a whole year’s cycle to choose what to do – SO, are you going to repeat all those habits and chores, or see this as the beginning of a new season, a new path ahead, a new adventure?

The tart of a new year always has that potential optimism, doesn’t it? But old habits die hard. How determined are you? How much are you ingrained in your current life, habits, routine? How much do you really WANT to change?

For me, it’s a bit of a psychological split. Bear with me and I will explain: As a Pagan, my ‘New Year’ actually started 31st October, with Samhain. This is when I make my vows, reflect on the past year, and honour all my ancestors-familial, cultural and spiritual. However, living in this society and culture, of course I can’t ignore the traditional and societal New Year – and all the psychological trappings that come with it.

Yet again, as Pagan, I find my natural energy waves in flow with Nature’s seasons – I literally withdraw in Winter, sleep more, think, and generally don’t do much – I begin more active thinking and planning in Spring, perk up a bit – and then go mad in Summer, when I seem to become more active, happy, and ever so slightly obsessed with whatever plan or project I currently have on the go. This lasts into the Autumn…. and so the cycle starts again.

So starting afresh and making resolutions or plans in the middle of Winter seems anathema to me. Yet I suppose it is good to have a ‘starting point’ – January; New Year; it gives a focal point. And I definitely want to make the most of this year.

I’m getting older, my children are growing – still young, but time goes fast when you have kids – and I want to be a Mum they grow up being proud of. I don’t want to ‘float’ through life anymore. There’s so many things I’ve put on the backburner – simply because it’s easier not to do them ‘I’m too tired’; ‘I like playing PS3 games’; ‘I need to get the kids’ stuff sorted’… the cycle of excuses is endless. Why do we do this? Why don’t we – some of us anyway! – follow our ambitions? It’s like self-sabotage. Is it a test? Some kind of Karma? Or are we just plain lazy?

Whatever the reason, I don’t want another year of non-achievement. I know what I want to do. And I’m going to do it.

Hello Life: Wait up, Here I Come!

I hope you, too, have a Dream Filled, Hope Attained Year ahead. Blessings be.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. 1EarthUnited

     /  January 4, 2013

    Happy new year Heidi. I look forward to sharing and learning with you. Be well. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. Well said! Very true – I like your expression of it. If only we could recognise that more – that we are all beings with the same basic needs – there is no need for boundaries; differentiation; war.
    I’ve heard that too – about the pagan new year. There is a lot of individual interpretation in pagan followers – probably because what was left behind is so fragmented. But that’s what i love about it: you can choose your own Path, your own way of BEING pagan – there is no scripture, no ‘leader’, just you and Nature and your heart. Paganism is not ‘religion’ – it is a way of life! πŸ™‚
    Anyway, enough of that – thank you for your wishes.
    Blessings be.

    Reply
  3. Knowing what you want….GREAT!
    Going after what you want…..GREATER!
    Getting what you want……I am sure it will happen. πŸ™‚

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      I hope so… I have the Inner Will… I just need to keep and maintain the outer Will now – which I’ve always had a struggle with! But thinking about going after what it is I want – well, the world seems that much brighter πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Really? The pagan new year is the same day as Halloween? I did not know that. I’ve read about some of the pagan celebrations, but didn’t realize this one was considered a new year. Interesting. Another blogger I sometimes read writes that the new year is more toward spring (actual planetary position, though I can’t remember the particulars). This “passage of time” idea seems to be a universal, though (a year is still a year on Earth wherever and whenever we begin and end it), part of all our lives regardless of our beliefs – this mortal coil calls for recognition of it, I suppose – celebrating life then and now, and casting our wishes into the future. Happy New Year (belated as it is), Heidi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

factfantasyfiction2's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Endless Light and Love

My Spiritual Journey

All the little pieces

How I found what once was lost

Lavender Moon Girl's Blog

Everyday poems and images for everyone.

The Lazy Archaeologist

A student archaeologist talks objects, excavations and academia

Michelle Joyce Bond

Offbeat, New Adult Paranormal Romance

JMC813

My Imagination is the DEVIL on my shoulder

alohaleya

wearing her heart on her blog

A Tranquil Mind's Blog

A journey through the thoughts of a tranquil mind

The Heartsongs Blog

Journeying back to my heart

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Orion Bright Star

" Love is the vibration of all Healing "

The Seven Minds

More Than Seven Chakras

Platinum Mind University

Eritis sicut Deum scientes bonum et malum

Sacred Soul Journey

Discovering, Connecting and Living the Sacred through power animals, tree spirits, colour and numerology

Thinking About Living

Poetry, poetic prose and curious musings

MzSusanB's Just Visiting

Life, Travel, and the Art of Accessibility

Laurali Star Diaries

Laurali Star Diaries is the Story of a Real-Life Cinderella Blogging About Indie Living and A Charmed Kind of Life

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Healing with Dixie

Living from Your Heart to Awaken Your Divine Potential

joyful cacophony

Welcome to our online community of creativity, healing and self-exploration! This is a place to tell our stories with the intention to learn from one another. Please read and share your thoughts freely!

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

sara annon

seeking the middle path

Tarot And Healing

Heal, Rejuvenate, Discover yourself!

