There Is A Story in Every Day

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto: Taso de kafo. Français : Photo d’une tasse de caffé Español: Taza de café (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So there I was, in the coffee shop with my coffee, and my writing book open to a new page. I sit quietly for a few moments, collecting my thought. A lady at the next table stood up, preparing to leave. She offered a comment to me – a pleasantry, an exchange about the weather. I replied… and before I knew it, she was telling me her life story.

She asked no questions of me, required no response from me – though I prompted her with the odd question and remark, showing – not feigning – interest in her life story. Sometimes, this type of random one-sided conversation can be rather annoying – but I was enjoying it. I found it fascinating, that a complete stranger was opening up her life to me.

Ironic then, I thought, when she said:

“I’m a people person… people just open up to me, they tell me everything – and they let me print it…” (she used to be a journalist, back in the “golden days of Fleet Street”).

At some point late in the conversation, she remarked on my book and asked me what I did/what I was doing. I replied, ‘having some me time; indulging in my creative writing.’ She responded to this, briefly yet enthusiastically, urging me to read the papers (which I remarked I don’t do) for “the little stories… which often hide big things, if you search hard enough..”

Such a refined looking, genteel older lady, with perfectly done hair, and oh-so subtle make-up; a gold necklace and a gold brooch. What made you choose to talk to me, I wonder? Me, with my wild hair; make-up-less face; casual clothes and bare of jewellery? Such a contrast, you and I!
Was it mere chance – that I happened to be there as you were leaving: were you lonely, and just wanted to chat to someone? Or was it something more – some kind of attraction, of sorts? I shall never know. I’ll just be grateful for that short, wonderful random event, and would like to say:-

Dear Lady in the coffee shop – thank you for sharing with me, a stranger, a part of your life- just for a short moment, in time. A snapshot of you; a memory for me. And, I thank you for your parting line:

“There is a story in every day.”

Yes – I just found one! 🙂

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. passionwriting

     /  December 1, 2012

    it was very beautifully written…fabulous line…indeed what are we but stories..!!

    Reply
    • Thank you… your comment is appreciated 🙂
      Exactly what I’ve always thought – everyone has a story, everyone is a story, we usually see but a snapshot, to be given something more – the background, the detail, is an honour.

      Reply
      • passionwriting

         /  December 1, 2012

        yes indeed…i can relate with the feeling…i have often heard a lot of tale too…however coming from a random stranger…it feels special..:)

  2. I think we often share things with strangers that we don’t with those we know. Somehow they don’t judge us.
    Then there are those who are just better listeners than others.
    Then there are places where you can’t get away from people and you have to listen……like in a supermarket line at 6 PM. lol There’s where you ought to go to get a good story. 🙂

    Reply
    • lol! I think you’re right… a stranger is a body passing by… no judgement, no follow-up; some words, now here,now gone, and life goes on! 🙂
      Bus stops are another good one… with me, always seems to be old people who talk at me!

      Reply
      • Old people who talk to you…………..here I be. lol

      • 🙂 This is the beauty of the blog, isn’t it?… There is no prejudgement based on age or appearance, or anything… You just read the words.
        Just the words, to inspire, or not.
        Yay!

  3. Beautiful indeed. I’m a salesman and I get to experience this everyday. I must say that it makes my day when someone cares enough to share a personal thought or experience; then they want to know about me. The engagements are surreal.

    This post was lovely. Truly a “Kodak moment” in words.

    Reply
  4. This is a very sweet story! How kind of you to allow her an audience.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Reply
    • It always fascinates me… we rush by people, making judgements, never knowing their ‘story’… and here was a lady willingly sharing hers 🙂
      And giving me a new insight too, which was just beautiful!

      Blessings to you too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

factfantasyfiction2's Blog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Endless Light and Love

My Spiritual Journey

All the little pieces

How I found what once was lost

Lavender Moon Girl's Blog

Everyday poems and images for everyone.

The Lazy Archaeologist

A student archaeologist talks objects, excavations and academia

Michelle Joyce Bond

Offbeat, New Adult Paranormal Romance

JMC813

My Imagination is the DEVIL on my shoulder

alohaleya

wearing her heart on her blog

A Tranquil Mind's Blog

A journey through the thoughts of a tranquil mind

The Heartsongs Blog

Journeying back to my heart

Baydreamer

poetry and tidbits by lauren scott

Warrior Poet Wisdom

Self-empowerment through sword & quill, heart & iron will.

Welcome to OrionBrightStar

"The wound is the place where the Light enters you" Rumi

The Seven Minds

More Than Seven Chakras

Platinum Mind University

Eritis sicut Deum scientes bonum et malum

Sacred Soul Journey

Discovering, Connecting and Living the Sacred through power animals, tree spirits, colour and numerology

Thinking About Living

Poetry, poetic prose and curious musings

MzSusanB's Just Visiting

Life, Travel, and the Art of Accessibility

Laurali Star Diaries

Laurali Star Diaries is the Story of a Real-Life Cinderella Blogging About Indie Living and A Charmed Kind of Life

Not Just Sassy on the Inside

The Journey toward higher consciousness and finding the sassy girl

Healing with Dixie

Living from Your Heart to Awaken Your Divine Potential

joyful cacophony

Welcome to our online community of creativity, healing and self-exploration! This is a place to tell our stories with the intention to learn from one another. Please read and share your thoughts freely!

Professions for Peace

Affirmations. Declarations. Statements.

sara annon

seeking the middle path

Tarot And Healing

Heal, Rejuvenate, Discover yourself!

